Feyenoord beat Go Ahead Eagles to win Eredivisie title

Feyenoord are the winning team for the 2022-23 season. Arne Slott’s side defeated the Go Ahead Eagles 3-0 in De Kuip on Sunday to clinch the title. It was Feyenoord’s first league title since 2017 under Giovanni van Bronckhorst. Osama Idrissi, Santiago Jimenez and Igor Paixao scored the title-winning goals.

Feyenoord remains unchanged from last week. Rotterdams remained without Gernot Trauner through injury. Feyenoord knew a win would be enough to clinch the title as it would be impossible to keep up with PSV Eindhoven.

Osama Idrissi broke the deadlock in the 15th minute. The Moroccan winger put his foot around the ball after a one-two with Mats Wiefer, sending the De Kuip crowd into a frenzied celebration.

Three minutes later, the crowd cheered again as Santiago Jiménez doubled the lead. With Igor Paixao deftly lobbing over the defense, the Mexican was strong enough to get the ball in front of the defenders and hit home with a volley.

In the 27th minute, Wiefer almost went on the scoresheet in the wrong way. A go-ahead free-kick curled into the box and was matched by Wiefer, but the header headed for his own goal, only to hit the crossbar and prevent a blush.

Paixiao added another to his collection of excellent strikes this season after 54 minutes with a weaker foot and a straight shot into the upper corner of the net to put Feyenoord ahead 3-0.

This is the 16th league win in Feyenoord’s history and the second in the last 25 years. Arne Slott has been an excellent manager at the Rotterdamers for the past two seasons, but some reports say this could be his last season as manager. In recent weeks, he has been linked with a move to English Premier League side Tottenham Hotspur.

https://nltimes.nl/2023/05/14/feyenoord-win-eredivisie-title-beating-go-ahead-eagles Feyenoord beat Go Ahead Eagles to win Eredivisie title

Exit mobile version