Welcome to this blog – NRC

In this blog NRC keeps track of the most important news about the European Championship football. The tournament was postponed last year due to the pandemic and is therefore officially called Euro 2020:

  • It is the sixteenth edition of the European Football Championship since 1960. For the first time, the tournament will not be played in one or two countries, but in eleven cities in as many countries. Amsterdam is one of the host cities; three group matches and an eighth final will be played in the Johan Cruijff Arena.
  • Portugal is reigning European champion. Five years ago, the team of star player Cristiano Ronaldo won in the final of France (1-0). It was the Portuguese’s first European title. Record holders are Germany (1972, 1980 and 1996) and Spain (1964, 2008 and 2012) with three titles, France (1984 and 2000) became champions twice. The other national teams that became European champions are: Soviet Union (1960), Italy (1968), Czechoslovakia (1976), Netherlands (1988), Denmark (1992) and Greece (2004).
  • Tonight is the opening match in the Olympic Stadium of Rome (pictured) between Turkey and Italy. The match, which starts at 9 p.m., is led by Dutch referee Danny Makkelie. It is his debut in a final tournament.
  • It Dutch soccerteam plays against Ukraine on Sunday evening at 9 p.m. in the Johan Cruijff Arena in Amsterdam. It is a group C match, which also includes North Macedonia and Austria.
  • This article is also part of our live blog: The European Football Championship starts in Rome

Welcome to this blog – NRC
Source link Welcome to this blog – NRC

Back to top button